Sights in Balatonfüred and in the surrounding
Sailing history interactive exhibition - A unique attraction of the Balaton shoreSailing simulator, image and sound materials, touch screen information system, interactive Balaton map, films about sailing and multilingual digital guided tour. Address: 8230...
Mór Jókai Memorial House
The outstanding Hungarian writer of the 19th century, Jókai Mór wrote one of his most popular novels, Aranyember (The Man with the Golden Touch) in his villa standing in the Oldtown part of the city, and was built in 1870. This unique exhibition gives us a glance into...
In the luxuriously rebuilt Vaszary Gallery art exhibitions, concerts, handcraft activities for children and adults and literary programs are organised. Vaszary Café and Vaszary Bookshop make your visit even more enjoyable. ...
The House of Jewish Excellence
8230 Balatonfüred, Bajcsy-Zsilinszky utca 32. Tel.: +36-87/782-592 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org www.zsidokivalosagok.hu During its history the oldest monument of Balatonfüred belonged to three different denominations, after having been renovated the building...
The promenade is named after the Nobel-prize winner Indian Poet Rabindranath Tagore who was healed in the autumn of 1926 in the Hospital for Heart Diseases. We can find his memorial tree and statue in the east side of the promenade. In the park of the memorial trees...
Panteon of Füred
The Panteon in Füred presents the memorial plaques of famous writers, artists and scientists associated with Balatonfüred. On the covered walkway below the sanatorium theatre, the first plaque commemorates the poet János Garay, who was the first to dedicate a book of...
The statues of the fisherman and the ferryman
The two famous satues - representing two ancient professions of the Lake - were crated by János Pásztor in 1937, but they were placed only four years later to their present location. According to the legend, if you touch their boots, you can be quite sure that you...
The residence of Széchényi Ferenc
Built in 1790, now it functions as St. Benedek Secondary School. 8230 Balatonfüred, Hősök tere 1. Tel.: +36 87/342-662
Villa of the Dőry family – now Hotel Astoria
The hotel was reconstructed in the summer of 2004. It was already operated under the name Astoria between the two World Wars. After the reconstruction, the building regained its original image and beauty. 8230 Balatonfüred, Jókai Str. 28. Tel.: +36 87/343-643...
Kossuth Lajos sour water spring and pump-house
The guests and patients can taste the famous sour water of the Kossuth Lajos spring in the pump-house located in front of the State Hospital for Heart Diseases. The pump-house was built in 1800 in classicistic style and it was rebuilt in 1853. 8230 BALATONFÜRED, GYÓGY...
The first Anna-ball was organised there in 1825. The house was built in 1798 in copf style. Nowadays flats and shops can be found in it. 8230 BALATONFÜRED, GYÓGY TÉR
The villa used to belong to the director of the spa in Balatonfüred. The exhibition shows the history of the town in the Rerform Era focussing on the four main topics: transport, spa, the Anna-ball and the theatre. This building hosts The Local History Collection with...
The villa of Lujza Blaha
The villa of Blaha Lujza ('the nightingale of the nation') now functions as a Hotel and Restaurant which was built in 1861. 8230 Balatonfüred, Blaha L. Str. 4. Tel.: +36 87/581-210 Fax: +36 87/581-219 www.hotelblaha.hu
Neumann Lázár rented the building of the Gallery from the Benedictine Abbey of Tihany and used it as a restaurant in the 19th century. In 1914 the restaurant was rebuilt as a 'mobile theatre', which means that it was rebuilt as a venue for cinema and theatrical...
Folk House in Arács
A postal history exhibition, the trophy collection of Ferenc Schneider and a geological exhibition can be seen in the building. Open: Wednesday-Sunday: 15-19 h More information: 0687/788456
Named after the world-famous researcher of Lake Balaton, the Lóczy cave is nearly 150 metres long and 20 metres deep. The visitors can view its special limestone layers. Adr.: End of Öreghegyi Street Tel.: +3687/555260 Open: 20th April - 30th September 10:00-18:00...
The ruins of the Church of St. Michael
The St. Michael Church was built in the 12th-13th century. It can be found on the way to Balatonszőlős.
Next to Koloska spring there are places for relaxing, cooking and barbecuing, sports field and a study path for forestry and environmental protection were created. A marked tourist path, a Wild Life Park and a Nordic Walking route is located in the lovely valley, as...
Jókai look-out tower – Tamás-hill
From the top of the Tamás-hill we get a stunning view of the lake and the surrounding settlements.
The remaining columns of the first Transdanubian Hungarian Theatre (built in 1831) can be visited here. Besides, a great playground, a jogging path and tennis courts provide opportunities for relaxation in the Small Forest of the town.
Reformed Church in Arács
Mass: every Sunday at 10:00 8230 BALATONFÜRED, LÓCZY L. U. 70. TEL.: +36 87/342-662
Reformed White Church
Built in classicistic style in 1829. Mass: every Sunday at 9:30 8230 BALATONFÜRED, ÓVODA STR. 1. TEL.: +36 87/342-795
Roman Catholic (Red) Church
Mass: every Sunday at 9:00 and 18:00, in summer also on Saturdays at 19:00 8230 BALATONFÜRED, SZENT ISTVÁN TÉR 1. TEL: +36 87/343-198
Round Church and Gallery
The church was built between 1841 and 1846 in classicistic style. Exhibitions are organised in its renewed basement gallery. Mass: every Sunday at 11:00, in the summer there are masses also on Saturdays at 18:00. 8230 BALATONFÜRED, BLAHA STR.1 TEL.: +36...
Catholic Church in Arács
Mass: every Sunday at 11:00 8230 BALATONFÜRED, KOLOSKA STR.
Mass: Sundays at 9:00 8230 BALATONFÜRED, BAJCSY-ZS. STR. 15. TEL.: +36 87/788-381
State Hospital for Heart Diseases
It was built between 1869 and 1871. Several famous politicians, scientists and poets were cured here. 8230 Balatonfüred, Gyógy tér 2. Tel.: +36 87/584-539 www.bfkor.hu